Faith Fuels our Lamps

This is the will of God, your holiness. (I Thessalonians 4:3)

We believe in God and love Him above everything else. God has a will. God has a will for us.

What fuels our lamps?

How about acts of faith?

Yes, Lord. I believe. I believe in the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I believe in Jesus, true God and true man. I believe in the Blessed Sacrament, in Confession, in all the sacraments. I believe in heaven. I believe in Your plan, Lord.

ENGLISH VERSION OF YEAR OF FAITH LOGOYes, Lord. I believe. I believe what the saints have believed. I believe what the Pope believes. I believe what the Scriptures teach. What the Catholic Church believes, has always believed, and always will believe—until You come again in glory: I, too, believe.

Yes, Lord. I believe. You are holy and good. You will the good. You will that, when all is said and done, I will know You as I am now known by You. Amen.

In the meantime, I believe and hope and love You and my neighbor. Tomorrow will take care of itself. Today I believe.

“Lord, I believe.” How many times a day? Five, ten, twenty, fifty?

Faith fuels our lamps, and the Bridegroom promises to come when we least expect. So we need to keep the lamps burning all the time, with faith.

4 thoughts on “Faith Fuels our Lamps

  1. This is a beautiful post. I would love to have a faith like yours. Can I ask a few questions – do you find that challenging your faith strengthens it? Have you ever looked for evidence that disproves God in order to strengthen your faith? Have you ever seriously considered the possibility that there is no God in the same way that I have considered that there is one? Do you have solid evidence that He exists? Thanks very much!

  2. Thank you for writing and posing such interesting questions.

    Solid evidence that God exists? When I first read Aquinas’ five ways of proving the existence of God, the one that reflected my own thoughts most was the contingency of observable existing things. Nothing we experience possesses absolute permanence. But there must be a necessary origin of all existing things, otherwise nothing would exist. Aquinas’ other four ways are also convincing.

    The idea that only matter exists has always struck me as rather ridiculous, considering the genuine magnificence of the cosmos and of the human soul.

    But: To know beyond a reasonable doubt that God exists is not to know that He is loving and bent on our eternal happiness. Only He can give us the gift of faith by which we believe in Christ crucified.

    The entire mystery of Christ, and the mystery of His divinity, requires constant spiritual discipline to embrace. Nothing could be more mentally challenging than the truth that Christ is God. The gift of faith propels our minds on the greatest possible adventure and requires us to question absolutely everything–because nothing that I know is God.

    Christ has revealed the true God, Who altogether transcends our understanding, Who nonetheless beckons us constantly to a more and more intimate friendship.

    I hope you pay a visit to your local Catholic church! Thanks again for writing.

  3. Thank you for answering so quickly! Yes, I think I will.
    There’s one thing I don’t understand in your reply. You said “the gift of faith propels our minds on the greatest possible adventure and requires us to question absolutely everything–because nothing that I know is God.” What did you mean by that? What is He to you, if nothing you know is God?
    Thanks!

  4. Another great question. Everything that I know is an idea, a concept in my mind. My thoughts are true insofar as my ideas correspond with reality. But my mind is incapable of grasping a concept that corresponds adequately to God. All I can know for certain is what he is not: He is not limited; He is not a created thing. God therefore is the great unknown darkness that lies beyond everything knowable.

    The Lord Jesus has revealed that this great unknown Power is love, self-giving love. Christ has revealed that everything exists because of undying love. He revealed this by every aspect of His pilgrimage as a man, but above all by dying on the cross.

    So the great darkness beyond everything I can know is, actually, the infinite light of love. But I will only see when I get to heaven. For now, the truth of the triune Glory abides in my mind as a mystery of faith, thanks be to God.

    May the good Lord give this gift of faith to everyone! May we all have the courage to open our hearts to it, and to do our part in sharing it.

    I’ve probably confused you ten times more than when you asked the question. May God help us all.

Leave a Reply

