Go First and Be Reconciled with Your Brother

The anger of man worketh not the justice of God. (James 1:20)

What does worketh the justice of God? The crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

Christ is the justice, the righteousness, the wisdom of God. Christ became our righteousness, our sanctification, and our redemption—by being God’s righteousness, God’s holiness, God’s eternal truth.

Our souls move with anger when we perceive injustice, just like they move with hunger when our stomachs are empty. To be human is to experience anger. No one can live on earth without experiencing anger at least once or twice.

But, weak and feeble vessels that we are, we must in conscience pause to answer this question: With whom, really, do I have a right to be angry? Who truly deserves my particular wrath?

I think we can say, upon reflection, that the only person who truly deserves to feel the heat of my anger would be the person for whom Christ did not die. When I meet someone for whom Christ did not die, then let me vent my spleen. Then let me blow my top. Then let me holler and caterwaul and go ballistic and rip someone a new you-know-what.

In the meantime, while I live out the rest of this pilgrim life among fellow sinners, let me try to remember that Christ died for each of us and for all of us. We have that in common, all these brother sinners and me. We all have that in common, that we each needed the atoning sacrifice of Christ–in order for us to have any hope whatsoever for anything other than everlasting hell.

Let me remember that I myself have no righteousness, other than the righteousness of Jesus–which Jesus wants everyone to have. And then let me try to take another look at whatever situation strikes me as so offensive. Let me try to see it from the Christian point-of-view. Let me try to see it as Jesus Himself sees it. From His throne, the cross, where He suffered excruciating agony for all of us and for each of us.

Leave a Reply

