22 + 22 and the Kneeling Church

St Matthews Cathedral

St. Matthews Cathedral, Washington DC

 

Kinda cool for me to think about how exactly 22 years ago, I began the Lent that prepared me for the Sacraments of Initiation in the Catholic Church.

At that time, I was 22 years of age.

On the afternoon of the first Sunday of Lent, 1993, we sat in St. Matthew’s Cathedral on Rhode Island Avenue. We waited for our little group to be called for acknowledgement by the archbishop. It seemed like we waited forever, and then we were called, and it all happened in a second.

Looking back: There were so, so many things about the Church that I didn’t understand then. I actually had a very hard time keeping my eyes open during that particular ceremony. I worked all-night shifts on Saturday nights then.

I just believed with everything I had that This is My Body, This is My Blood is true. And that Christ Crucified is the one thing that truly makes life worth living.

I guess maybe I have come to understand a thing or two about the Church in these ensuing twenty-two years. But it still feels like a good idea to start Lent acknowledging that I don’t understand much.

Deny yourself. Take up your cross daily. And follow Me.

Twenty-two years ago, I was dying to belong to a church where people knelt. Knelt before the Blessed Sacrament. Knelt before the Crucified. Knelt befort the Awesome Majesty that we do not understand. The Majesty Who loves us unto death.

May He give us the grace to be that kneeling Church together, during Holy Lent 2015.

Pope Francis Ash Wednesday procession

Pope Francis Ash-Wednesday Procession yesterday

 

4 thoughts on “22 + 22 and the Kneeling Church

  1. Thank you Fr. Mark your devotion and Love for our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ is an inspiration to us all.

Leave a Reply

