Guest Post: Donna McGarry

To his Excellency Archbishop Christophe Pierre, Apostolic Nuncio to the United States, and to anyone whom it may concern:

I have been a Catholic since before I was born. I grew up in a big Catholic family, married a man from a big Catholic family, raised three children in the Catholic faith, and worked as Office Administrator and Director of Religious Education at our Catholic parish.

I have taught children the Catholic faith for more than 20 years, led youth retreats, served on parish council, and donated money to the Catholic Diocese of Richmond for more than 25 years. The Church and its traditions and sacraments have always been the center of my life.

stjoeparishpic
St. Joseph, Martinsville

Until a few years ago, I never would have considered leaving the Church. But over and over, the leadership of our Diocese has made me question what exactly we stand for as followers of Christ. I’m writing to you today to help me, and many others in my position, to once again have confidence in the Church.

In a letter from Bishop Barry Knestout dated May 6, 2020, he says, “I have a responsibility to ensure all ministries within the diocese work to unify and build the Body of Christ, not cause further discord. I have an obligation to ensure that those who serve our faithful are able to do so in a way that the Church expects.”

I find it troubling that he chose those words to say about the situation in Southwestern Virginia. The faithful here in our small communities are diverse. We span the spectrum in terms of our politics, race, and ideologies.

Even given our varied experiences and outlooks, we have never been in discord about the way our pastor Father Mark White expects us to live our faith. He is adamant that we take advantage of the Sacraments. He speaks to us weekly–or more if he can–about the importance of attending Mass. He shows us by example how to care for the poor, welcome the refugee, stand up for the oppressed, and to respect the dignity of every single human life.

There were many times during my employment with the Diocese that I questioned our church leadership, under the authority of Bishop Knestout, and wondered how they could make decisions that adversely affected the concerns and needs of our parish. My calls and emails were never answered by the Diocese in any way that expressed that they heard and cared.

It was Father Mark I turned to in frustration, and it was Father Mark who always counseled me to do what I could to treat others in the way the Church expects, and to always concern myself with the needs of others.

Every time Bishop Knestout demonstrated a lack of compassion or goodness, Father Mark reminded me that goodness can always be found when we follow the Gospel, and to continue reading the Word.  When my voice was not being heard by Bishop Knestout, Father Mark was there listening to my worries and reassuring me that I was needed.

Although I never heard a word from my bishop, my pastor wouldn’t let me give up hope. He guided me to the sacraments for strength. I never felt hopeless under his care. In these weeks and months of being away from our beloved church walls because of the virus, Father Mark has always pleaded with his parishioners to remain faithful, through all adversity, and to pray without ceasing.

Bishop Knestout has tried his best to take that hope away from us. At a time when we needed the stability and reassurance of our parish priest, the bishop came to our sister parish, to a church left nearly empty by a national pandemic, and declared that he was the one with the power and that we best follow him, without questioning his authority.

We received a letter from Bishop Knestout urging us to make Father Mark forget his quest for justice and to fall in line with church leadership. The peace and harmony the bishop spoke of in his letter was never in danger in Martinsville. That is, until Richmond decided to get involved.

Parishioners of St. Joseph had no problem with Father Mark’s blog. The large majority didn’t even know it existed! That is, until Richmond decided to get involved.

In his letter, Bishop Knestout claimed that he was a shepherd who did not want to see his sheep lost. Before the bishop became involved, we knew where we were and where we ultimately wanted to end up. And we were being led on our journey by a true shepherd.

Ecce Agnus DeiWe had a shepherd who was leading by example and word, how to follow the goodness of the Gospels, to stay faithful to our Lord and Savior, to stand strong for righteousness, and to pray without ceasing. He was pushing us to dig deeper, to trust more, to participate in sacraments, and to forgive. He continues to show us how to be a living example.

When Father Mark first came to us in Martinsville, we used to smirk at how long he elevated the Host and Chalice during Mass. Parishioners would often time it, and we would be sure to let him know when he broke a record. He only smiled.

It didn’t take long, though, for us to quiet down in those precious seconds and see the love on Father’s face for his Lord. We started to feel that love as well. We came to cherish those extended seconds spent with Christ. Now, we smile with him.

Father Mark’s actions, as always, spoke so much louder than any words could have. This is how he has always led us to be in full communion with Christ and the Church. To smile when mocked by those who would want to belittle us, to be confident in your love for Christ. I’m incredibly proud of his unfaltering faith and his example of how to truly be the hands and feet, the visible expression of the invisible Lord.

No matter what difficulties he experiences, and there have been many, Father Mark remains compassionate, calm, and faithful. He reminds us that occasionally we need to question man’s word, but we can trust fully in the Word of God. He reminds us that the Church, while flawed at times, has remained our foundation for 2000 years, and that She will never fall.

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash. Matthew 7:24-27.

Father Mark White stands firmly on that rock. He stands strong against all the adversity thrown at him from Bishop Knestout and his brother priests. He is standing like a shield in front of the victims of abuse so that they too can feel the sturdy foundation of our faith. We cannot let him fall.

I respectfully ask that you listen to the pleas of the Catholic faithful in Southwestern Virginia and reverse the unethical and illegal position of Bishop Barry Knestout. Allow Father Mark to remain our pastor and to continue to live his life as a servant of Christ, and a shepherd to His people.

 

Thank you for your consideration,

Donna McGarry

14 thoughts on “Guest Post: Donna McGarry

  1. Donna, thank you for such a well
    Written heart felt piece about Fr. Mark and all that is happening now by our bishop. I wish I could have written what you did. I agree with all of it. Fr. Mark, we love you, are
    Praying for you and treasure you!
    I hope the powers that be read this and really think about it. I doubt it will happen but we must always have hope.

  2. Donna so gut wrenching and right on. I also had no word from B. K. BUT as you stated so wonderfully the way Father Mark loves our Lord – his example- his unbelievable respect of the Body and Blood of Christ at Mass is unparraled. I to am a cradle Catholic and never never was given the time to reflect on our Lord at Mass like Father Mark enabled us to do. Father Mark is a true example of patience and a clarity giver to his parishioners. May the Lord continue to give Father Mark all the strength and love he needs to withstand this spiritual, mental, and heart wrenching cruelty placed on him. My prayers continue for our Pastor who is greatly missed.

  3. What price harmony?

    Unity?

    Everything, as it turns out.

    Just disgusting behavior by Bishop Knestout.

    Thank you for speaking out against it.

    AMDG

    – A Survivor

  4. So well said, Donna. You speak for us all.Father Mark is a rock and has steadied many of us through storms. If ever we have needed him at mass, we need him now. Thank you for your letter. Prayers for our parrish and Father Mark.

  5. Well said! As someone else posted either here or on FB, letters are not read by the Bishops and higher ups of the church which could explain why you never received an answer. I too have written to the Bishop and was never answered. To exact real change you must stop giving monetarily to the Archdiocese of Richmond. When the church sees that they are not receiving funds anymore, they will be moved/forced to act. You can give money to other church organizations and to the poor directly. In fact, you can write on your checks for the money to stay right in your parish and not go to the Archdiocese of Richmond. Or you can write Christmas 2020 or Easter 2020 on every check sent and that money will stay right in your parish.

    #boycottthearchdioceseofrichmond

  6. Thank you, Donna. Exactly how I feel. I have written several letters to Knestout but no reply. Now that Fr. Segerblom has self- quarantined, it would be a perfect time to re-instate Father Mark. I doubt that will happen. What a shame! Continuing to pray, Lori

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. To those who doubt change will come I say be patient and wait. God will not allow His sheep to be turned out among the wolves. Father White is a true Shepherd and the respect he has for the sacraments brings tears to my eyes. Pray the rosary every day for a healing for the Bishop…an expansion of his heart so humbly he can realize his mistake and have the courage to bring his priest back to the altar.

  8. Well said, Donna. Thank you so much for saying what we all feel. Continued prayers for all this to end peacefully and rightfully. God Bless.

  9. I am not from your diocese – but I too have had similar experiences when writing to my Bishop with a concern. This happened when I had a problem and even when my parish was inviting the Bishop to a inter-denominational Pro Life event. Not even the courtesy of a reply.

    It is cruel but true to say it like it is. They are hypocrites, and the only thing they seem to care about is the Bishop’s annual appeal and their share of the collections. (in other words money!)

    I thought it was just local – looks like this is very widespread.

  10. Donna your letter really hit home with me. I have been following Fr. Mark’s blogs for quite a while and have been inspired. I have never met him as I am from Norfolk. We at Blessed Sacrament lost our beloved priest, Fr. Joe Metzger because of the Bishop also. We signed petitions that were sent to the Bishop with deaf ears. Many have left the Church. I am 71 and was born Catholic. It’s very disturbing to witness so many faithful hurt by the Bishop. I continue to pray for justice for our priests.

  11. It breaks my heart to read of those who left the Church because of human failings of a priest or Bishop.
    Father White epotomizes reverence for the Sacrament of the Eucharist and for anyone to leave is to leave Calvary where Jesus shed every drop of blood so we could receive Him in this most sacred of sacraments.
    I understand the hurt the Bishop is causing. Prayer, penance and receiving the sacraments is the only answer.
    God’s church will not be diminished by any human failure. Father White, I continue to pray for a quick resolution of this matter and a genuine healing as a result.

  12. I too have written several emails to the Bishop in support of Fr. Mark, but have gotten no response. I even sent a letter to the editor to Catholic Virginian, but they refused to print so I had the Richmond Times Dispatch and the Martinsville Bulletin print it instead. I am a survivor myself and have appreciated Fr. Mark’s asking for more transparency in the Richmond Diocese. I find it contradictory that another Richmond priest Fr. Dan Beeman has a twitter feed that is very political and divisive. Just take a look at his recent post and the anger he evoked.

    Why is he not be censored like Fr. Mark?

Leave a comment