Fell Sergeant, Strict in His Arrest

When your mom has a loving, goal-oriented, gusto-chasing sister who lives within walking distance, you wind up with an extra influence in your formative years.

The sisters.  Cindy on the right.
The sisters. Cindy on the right.
Dear reader, please pray for the repose of my dear aunt Cindy. She died this afternoon of cancer, two weeks shy of her 65th birthday.

She was big-time: Vice-President of a large publishing company. Moderator of the Presbyterian Church USA. Distinguished patron of the finest restaurants in Washington. And she kept quite a few charming cats in kibbles over the years, too.

My aunt Cindy taught me to yell “EEEEEE!!!!!” whenever Elvin Hayes took a jumpshot. She taught me how to remain calm during a round of miniature golf. She showed me the best way to drink your morning coffee.

She taught me the meaning of approximately 14,000 words. She risked everything and took a troubled teenage foster-son into her home, who grew up to become one of the most lovable professional skate-boarders I know.

Cindy taught me how to enjoy driving, how to appreciate Rehoboth Beach, how to include champagne in your Easter celebrations, and how to love your brothers and sisters in church (crusty as some of them might be).

She tried to teach me how to behave like a gracious gentleman with a sense of humor. (All my failures on that score must fall on my own head.)

Aunt to left, mom sitting, goofball smiling in St. Peter's Square
Aunt to left, mom sitting, goofball smiling in St. Peter’s Square, Nov. ’08

Cynthia Bolbach’s funeral will occur on Saturday at 1:00 p.m., at
First Presbyterian Church, Arlington, Va.
Requiescat in pace.

Please come and give me a hug after the service, if you can. Or give me a hug the next time you see me. Or give me a spiritual hug by saying some prayers for Cindy, for my mom and brother, and for me.

17 thoughts on “Fell Sergeant, Strict in His Arrest

  1. Father Mark,

    It’ll have to be a spiritual hug; we’re going to Joe T’s funeral Saturday @ 2:00 PM @ St. Raphaels. I’ve asked to serve as an Aramathean for the service.

    All of which is to say that the “Cloud of Witnesses” extends to family and friends; and that there is no finer eulogy than the one you just blogged for your Aunt.

    It is, indeed, LOVE (HIS love) that makes the World go ’round; and it ain’t romantic love, it’s the gentle love of humans from generation to generation and from brother to brother (or, even, sister) that makes this World a human and humane, and livable sphere. Without it, and we’re constantly in danger of losing it, it all goes to Hell in a handcart.

    She must have been a joy, witness he silly grin on your face; and she and your (sleeping in the picture?) Mom (her sister) must have been one of the more beautiful opposing pairs in the existence of the Earth.

    In God we trust.

    LIH,

    joe

    p.s. at first, I thought YOU were the accomplished skateboarder; but on further consideration, I really can’t determine; are you an accomplished skateboarder; and were YOU the foster son?

    lih,

    j.

  2. So sorry for your family’s loss. Will remember her in my prayers as well as your family.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Father, I am so sorry to hear about Aunt Cindy. You and your family are in our prayers. We have very happy memories of Cindy and our trip to Rome! May the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace, Amen. Regina

  4. Fr White I am so sorry to hear about Aunt Cidny. I really enjoyed her company, as well as your mom’s, on our trip to Rome. She was a wonderful person and will be missed. You and your family will continue to be in my prayers. May she be sliding into heaven yelling weeee, what a great life I had.

  5. So sorry for the loss of your Aunt sure sounds like she was very special person. My prayers are with you and your family at this sad time.

  6. I’m so sorry about your Aunt Cindy. I didn’t know her, but am a friend of your mom’s from college and have been following here illness with your mom over the past year. She sounds like a truly remarkable person and I know the loss is great for you boys, as well as your mom. Prayers are with you, Ben and your mom as you journey through these coming days.

  7. My heart goes out to you and your mom, the quiet and reserved Ann Bolbach I knew at Wittenberg. Be comforted that Cindy had a striking influence on this world that will reverberate into eternity.

  8. I am so sorry for the loss of your aunt. She sounds like a wonderful woman. May the love and support of your friends and family carry you past this difficult time.

  9. I worked at the same company as Cindy for more than twenty years. She probably didn’t know me, but I knew her, because she really was “big time,” as you say. Like all the other higher-ups at that company, she went by her first name to everybody; but unlike many of those higher-ups, she had a good reputation among the rank and file. I don’t remember anybody saying a word against her, and that’s saying a lot of somebody so important to the company. My prayers are with you and your family, and I will ask my local parish to pray for the repose of her soul.

  10. Few impressed me more for their concerns about the people they loved and sent to Burke than your Aunt Cindy. I will always remember her.

  11. Dear Father Mark,
    I am so very sorry I couldn’t get out today to your wonderful Aunt Cindy’s funeral; she sounds like the best kind of Aunt, like Graham Greene’s Travels with my Aunt, my favorite book of his, really, when all is said and done. I met your parents when you were being ordained, at your first Mass, and I believe I met your Aunt then too, wonderful family, deserving of a special son as you are, a great priest for our Lord and Savior.
    I am sending you several virtual hugs here to comfort you in the days ahead without your Aunt to guide you, keep you laughing and loving. You and she and your Mother will be in my prayers through this Christmas season, and may the Blessed Mother comfort you.
    Sincerely, Mary Ann Novak

  12. Hello Fr. White, this is Shirley, I’m so glad I found you ,I’ve been Praying for you everyday. I’m sorry to hear that your aunt has gone home to be with the Lord.I know you and she had a special love. I remember being with her and your mom on our Pilgrimage to Rome. I hope your mom is well. I called
    to talk with you today, but was told that you would not be at the rectory until tomorrow at noon. I will give you a call tomorrow, God Bless !!! Shirley austin

Leave a comment